A Random Pawpaw

We were down in the garden the other day when hubby pointed out to me that there was a pawpaw tree growing in the garden.   This pawpaw tree was not planted by us and is in a part of the garden that has not been prepared for planting.  In fact the soil that it’s growing is actually from underneath a concrete slab that we had removed and replaced underneath our house a while back.  Actually I don’t even think it’s soil.  It looks more like clay. Once hubby pointed out this random pawpaw growing our garden, I’m instantly thinking this is excellent, we can transplant it into some better soil and we’ll be growing our own pawpaws.

Thanks to an awesome website that I frequent often, Tropical Permaculture, I was able to find out all I needed to know about growing pawpaws.  The good thing is that pawpaws are quick to grow fruit and fruit all year round.  They grow well in a frost free climate and enjoy lots of sunlight and water.  Perfect for a hot tropical climate like North Queensland.

Pawpaws can be male, female or bisexual.  Males don’t grow fruit however they are required for pollination.  So in order to actually grow pawpaws, you need a female and a male plant.  My first bit of bad news – I only have one plant.  The other thing is, they don’t transplant well, so moving it to another part of the garden is really not a good option.

I’m still puzzled as to how the pawpaw tree came to grow in my garden and as it’s not likely to grow fruit, I’m just going to enjoy watching it grow.

A random pawpaw tree in our garden

7 responses to this post.

  1. Are the male and female plants easily identifiable as different? If so, you could always plant the other tree somewhere where you prefer it or do up the area where this one is maybe into a fruit arbor? Who knows, it may be one that is both male and female. We found we had an almond tree in the garden but I thought they required a pollinator. Imagine my surprise when it started to grow fruit!
    Keep us updated with photos of its progress.

    Reply

  2. They are only identifiable once they start to flower. The males have long stalks with several blooms. Females usually have single bigger blooms that are close to the trunk. If you have a bisexual plant you still need a male apparently. We will eventually do up that part of the garden, its just a matter of time. lol. I would love to have an almond tree. I love almonds. I will have to do some research into whether they can grow up here.

    Reply

  3. Grow macadamias…much more suited to your climate :). Are there any pawpaws close to your property? There must be some reasonably close as I would imagine that seed grew from something dropped from a bird. If there are some pawpaws close, they may pollinate your pawpaw. You don’t always have to have a tree really close for it to get pollinated, just being close (a neighbours or some wild specimens) is usually enough. If you find out that its a female and there aren’t any close you can always pollinate it yourself! Head off somewhere with male trees, take some cotton buds and rub the male flowers with the cotton bud and return triumphant armed with fruit futures! There are many ways to milk a pig ;). We were told that pistachia chinensis trees HATED being transplanted but transplant one we did and it’s going great guns. I think that sometimes horticulturalists like to maintain a degree of exclusivity by making gardening sound a whole lot harder than it really is. My mum’s creed was “bung it in the ground!” and that was my experience of gardening for my first few years. By the way…I haven’t always been a resident Tasmanian (that sounds a bit like the first line of “Fathers Day” by the hunters and collectors 😉 ), I was once a proud Western Australian but when life offers you a chance to have a seachange you tend to grab it and run 🙂

    Reply

    • Love Macadamias. Might have to give them a go. I never thought about the fact that there might be a pawpaw tree in a neighboring property. Maybe I’ll just let it go and see what happens. It obviously did come from somewhere nearby so chances are there is a male around somewhere. Thanks for your advice. I am relatively new to this so take all the advice I can get.

      Reply

      • You are welcome. Thats what we are all here for, to bounce off each other and learn Learn LEARN. Steve and I have just finished our Diploma of Horticulture and our Diploma of Landscape Design so you may as well get some use out of us lol ;). We are learning the hard way that practical knowledge is nothing like book lernins and it comes from deep inside you where the sun don’t shine and sometimes you have to get out there when the sun don’t shine to get what you want 🙂

  4. I read somewhere that the male pawpaw needs to be in a radius of 1km to the female. Bees and birds should be able to pollinate within that distance. Keep growing your little surprise friend as its likely there are several males in the vincinity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

theroadtoserendipity

Trying to find order in all of this chaos

Rabid Little Hippy

My journey into self sustainability, eco awareness and living in country Victoria.

thetropicalhippy

A blog about going green in the tropics!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

