Miss 3’s Daycare Amazes Me!

My Little Miss 3 attends daycare three days a week as I work part-time.  She has only been attending this daycare centre since February.  The one she was attending prior was pitiful (but that’s a whole other story).  When we first went there, I noticed they had 3 chickens in a pen in the corner.  I later found out that the kids take turns in going in and feeding the chickens and collecting the eggs.  The centre provides all the food for the kids (I don’t have to send anything along.  YAY!  Makes things easier for me) and they use the eggs in their cooking.

As time went on, I began to notice more and more things the centre was doing.  A few months ago, they started a herb garden, they have heaps of plants in pots all around the place and yesterday I noticed a new dwarf orange tree.  The kids help the teachers to water the plants everyday and they absolutely love it.  I have seen arguments over who is going to help Miss Maggie water the plants today.

Yesterday all the kids in Miss 3’s class planted their own seeds in a pot.  Miss 3 was very excited to show me her pot with her name on it.  I can’t wait to see how excited she will be when her seeds sprout. Miss 3 is very into gardening as we have been doing a lot at home lately.

Yesterday when I picked up Miss 3 I also noticed a worm farm sitting in one of the gardens.  It’s in an area where the kids can’t access so no worries about little hands getting in there to play.  I’m not sure how involved the kids are with feeding the worm farm but I suspect the might be allowed to put the food in there under supervision.

I am so so happy that what I teach Miss 3 at home about environmentally friendly/self-sustainable living is also being taught at daycare.  It makes me so happy to know that she is learning all this from such a young age.  Well done daycare!.

3 responses to this post.

  1. That is so wonderful! This is how we are going to get the environmentally friendly message out there – teach our children when they are young. Do you know what kind of nappies they use for those that still need them? If they’re looking for an eco friendly disposable, suggest they look at the eenee range. 🙂

    Reply

  2. If these wonderful habits start early they stay. It’s great to hear about this sort of grassroots change going on in small daycare centres and equally great to hear that you have managed to find a good daycare centre! They are sometimes very hard to find 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

theroadtoserendipity

Trying to find order in all of this chaos

Rabid Little Hippy

My journey into self sustainability, eco awareness and living in country Victoria.

thetropicalhippy

A blog about going green in the tropics!

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

